Suzuki Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just traded my ktm duke2 for a sweet GSXR1000. The suzuki runs awesome except for the clutch engagement. On a gentle, legal speed take off there is no problem. On an aggressive, clutch slipping launch, the engagement is grabby and inconsistant. The clutch will grab and slip in a jerking, lurching fashon with a chirp/whine sound when it grabs. Under hard acceleration and smooth clutch lever release it is impossible to get a smooth engagement. It was suggested to me that this may be caused by worn shudder springs. The rest of the clutch assembly has been replaced. The basket has slight notching but not excessive (my supermotos have been notched worse and still engaged smoothly). Due to my offroad/supermoto background i have no hands on experience with shudder springs or clutch cushion bands. Any insight is appreciated.

·
Brahptimus Prime
23,504 Posts
Found this, sounds like it may fix your problem:

========================================================================

For all the K1-K4 owners I have now found the cheap clutch fix.

Normally with high rpm drag style launches the clutch judders and usually engages to early and doesnt allow the rider to slip the clutch all the way to the end of the clutch lever travel.

Grab one of these from your local Kawasaki dealer.

13089-0003
plate - clutch
(from a 2004 ZX10R)

It cost $17.30 AUD, (ronayers.com has them for $7.47US)
http://www.ronayers.com/browseparts....ing=13089-0003

I just installed this new clutch cushion where the 1st steel was originally (towards the inside of the engine) and discarded the original suzuki wave washer & seat. so it went:
FIBRE, NEW STEEL(13089),FIBRE,STEEL,FIBRE,STEEL ETC,

The clutch now performs 100%. I recommend this mod to anyone considering buying a Brock Davidson Clutch Cushion and this is much cheaper and probably does the same job!