Suzuki Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having been involved in motorcycling for over 25 years now (I started riding and racing dirtbikes when i was 4), I have been around and seen a lot. The most common thing I have seen and heard however, is the constant question of what bike to start with for the new rider. I have heard a lot of inexperienced riders say things like "You will get bored on a smaller-cc bike." or "A 600 is a girl's bike."

These statements are completely untrue, and as the saying goes "It is better to ride a slow bike fast than a fast bike slow."

Most modern 600cc supersport machines (Suzuki GSX-R600, Yamaha R6, Kawasaki ZX-6R, Honda CBR600RR) make as much hp as the early generation 1000cc bikes, handle infinitely better, and brake better as well. Anyone who says they are bored on a modern 600cc bike is either a professional racer, has way too big of an ego, or has no clue how to really ride a bike. Will you eventually get used to the straight line acceleration? Of course, but that will happen on any bike, whether it is a 600cc, 1000cc, or 1400cc.

If you really want to see how fast a 600cc bike can be, just check out any AMA Supersport race. The 600's handle better and brake better than the 1000's, the only advantage the 1000 has is hp.